England Football Online
 Home  New Team Matches
Seasons Competition  Opponents Comment
Features Q & A Forum Appendices
Contact Us Page Last Updated 27 April 2009


England Player Honours -
Professional Footballers' Association Young Players of the Year


The Professional Footballers' Association Young Player of the Year award, first made in 1974, goes to the young player deemed to have turned in the season's best overall performance in English league play.  The winner is chosen by vote of the Association's members based on performance in the season ending in the year the award is made.  Any player under 23 years of age in England's football leagues is eligible for the award regardless of his country of birth.  

As of 2009, the award had been made 36 times, and 22 England players had won the award 24 times, two of them (Robbie Fowler and Wayne Rooney) having gained it twice.  Not all of them had won their first senior cap when they received the award, of course.  

PFA Young Players of the Year
[England Players Highlighted]
Year Winner Club
1974 Kevin Beattie Ipswich Town FC
1975 Mervyn Day West Ham United FC
1976 Peter Barnes Manchester City FC
1977 Andy Gray Aston Villa FC
1978 Tony Woodcock Nottingham Forest FC
1979 Cyrille Regis West Bromwich Albion FC
1980 Glenn Hoddle Tottenham Hotspur FC
Year Winner Club
1981 Gary Shaw Aston Villa FC
1982 Steve Moran Southampton FC
1983 Ian Rush Liverpool FC
1984 Paul Walsh Luton Town FC
1985 Mark Hughes Manchester United FC
1986 Tony Cottee West Ham United FC
1987 Tony Adams Arsenal FC
1988 Paul Gascoigne Newcastle United FC
1989 Paul Merson Arsenal FC
1990 Matthew Le Tissier Southampton FC
Year Winner Club
1991 Lee Sharpe Manchester United FC
1992 Ryan Giggs Manchester United FC
1993 Ryan Giggs Manchester United FC
1994 Andrew Cole Newcastle United FC
1995 Robbie Fowler Liverpool FC
1996 Robbie Fowler Liverpool FC
1997 David Beckham Manchester United FC
1998 Michael Owen Liverpool FC
1999 Nicolas Anelka Arsenal FC
2000 Harry Kewell Leeds United AFC
Year Winner Club
2001 Steven Gerrard Liverpool FC
2002 Craig Bellamy Newcastle United FC
2003 Jermaine Jenas Newcastle United FC
2004 Scott Parker Chelsea FC
2005 Wayne Rooney Manchester United FC
2006 Wayne Rooney Manchester United FC
2007 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United FC
2008 Cesc Fabregas Arsenal FC
2009 Ashley Young Aston Villa FC