England Football Online
 Home  New Team Matches
Seasons Competition  Opponents Comment
Features Q & A Forum Appendices
Contact Us Page Last Updated 27 April 2009


England Player Honours -
Professional Footballers' Association Merit Award


The Professional Footballers' Association Merit Award, established in 1974, recognises outstanding achievement or service in football. 

As of 2009, the award had been made 36 times, and 13 England players--two of whom also served as England manager (Joe Mercer and Bobby Robson)--had won the award.  In addition, the award went to England's 1966 World Cup squad in 1986 and to Manchester United's 1968 European Cup squad, which included several England players, in 1993.  In 1985 it went to former England manager Ron Greenwood, who never won an England cap.  In 2008, former captain, Jimmy Armfield, was merited.

PFA Merit Award
[England Players/Coaches Highlighted]
Year Winner
1974 Bobby Charlton
Cliff Lloyd
1975 Denis Law
1976 George Eastham
1977 Jack Taylor
1978 Bill Shankly
1979 Tom Finney
1980 Matt Busby
Year Winner
1981 John Trollope
1982 Joe Mercer
1983 Bob Paisley
1984 Bill Nicholson
1985 Ron Greenwood
1986 England World Cup Squad 1966
1987 Stanley Matthews
1988 Billy Bonds
1989 Nat Lofthouse
1990 Peter Shilton
Year Winner
1991 Tommy Hutchison
1992 Brian Clough
1993 Manchester United European Cup squad 1968
1994 Billy Bingham
1995 Gordon Strachan
1996 Pel´┐Ż
1997 Peter Beardsley
1998 Steve Ogrizovic
1999 Tony Ford
2000 Gary Mabbutt
Year Winner
2001 Jimmy Hill OBE
2002 Niall Quinn
2003 Sir Bobby Robson CBE
2004 Dario Gradi MBE
2005 Shaka Hislop
2006 George Best
2007 Sir Alex Ferguson CBE
2008 Jimmy Armfield OBE
2009 John McDermott