2018 Finals
England Football Online
Contact Us Page Last Updated 7 December 2020
2026 Finals

World Cup Index
Preliminary Competition
Final Tournament
Team Records
Squad Record

Qatar 20



The 22nd FIFA World Cup Finals were awarded to Qatar on 2 December 2010.

In October 2007, FIFA ended its continental rotation policy. The bidding farce to host the 2018 and 2022 World Cups began in January 2009, and national associations had until 2 February 2009 to register their interest. During the process, all non-European nations gradually withdrew from the 2018 bid, thus making UEFA nations ineligible for the 2022 bid.
In the end, there were five bids for the 2022 World Cup: Australia, Japan, Qatar, South Korea and USA.

Australia were eliminated in the first round after receiving just one vote. Japan were then eliminated from the next round after receiving two votes, one less than they received in the first round. South Korea were then eliminated in Round Three, leaving the United States and Qatar to battle it out in the final, after failing to receive the majority twelve votes. Qatar then won by fourteen votes to eight.

Due to Qatar's intense summer heat, this tournament will be held from late-November to mid-December, making it the first to not be held in the summer, in a reduced timeframe of 28 days.


The Draw

The final draw for the 2022 World Cup will be in April 2022.

Pot 1 (seeded) Pot 2 Pot 3 Pot 4


The Build-Up
















First Phase Table
Team P W D L F A GD Pts
November 2022

November 2022
November 2022

December 2022

The Second Phase

3 December 2022
4 December 2022
5 December 2022
6 December 2022

Round of sixteen

Quarter Finals

9 December 2022
10 December 2022

Semi Finals

13 December 2022
14 December 2022


Third Place Play-off

17 December 2022


The 2022 Final

18 December 2022