Nations League Index
England Football Online
Contact Us Page Last Updated 9 June 2019
2022 Finals
Preliminary Competition
Final Tournament
Team Records
Squad Records

Portugal 20



The very first Nations League Finals was awarded to Portugal on 3 December 2018.

Portugal was officially selected as the host country by the UEFA Executive Committee during their meeting in Dublin. Only League A teams could bid for the right to host the Final tournament, and only one of the four countries could be selected. Ideally, the Finals are to be held in two stadiums, each holding a minimum of 30,000, and located in the same city, or no more than 93 miles apart.

On 9 March 2013, only three countries expressed interest. Italy, Poland and Portugal, all from Group A3. Poland were relegated on 14 October, and then on 17 November, Portugal won the group and therefore won the right to host.


The Draw

The final draw for the 2019 Nations League Finals was held at Shelbourne Hotel in Dublin on 3 December 2018, hosted by Darragh Maloney, and drawn by Gary Massett and Robbie Keane.

Portugal, Netherlands, Switzerland and then England were all drawn out of Pot 1. Leading teams first, followed by the opposition, thus the Swiss were placed with the hosts, and England against the Dutch.

The second pot consisted of designating the home and away teams. Semi-Final 1 was drawn first, thus making Portugal or Switzerland the home side in the Final.

Semi Finals

5 June 2019 - 7.45pm WEST
Portugal 3 Switzerland 1 [1-0]
Estádio do Dragão, Porto (42,415)
Cristiano Ronaldo (3)
6 June 2019 - 7.45pm WEST
Netherlands 3 England 1 [0-1] AET [1-1]
Estádio Dom Afonso Henriques, Guimarães
de Ligt, Walker OG, Promes
Rashford (pen)


Third Place Play-off

9 June 2019 - 2.00pm WEST
Switzerland 0 England 0 [0-0]
[0-0] & Penalties [5-6]

Estádio Dom Afonso Henriques, Guimarães (15,742)
Penalty Shoot-out:- Harry Maguire 0-1, Steven Zuber 1-1, Ross Barkley 1-2, Granit Xhaka 2-2, Jaden Sancho 2-3, Manuel Akanji 3-3, Raheem Sterling 3-4, Kevin Mbabu 4-4, Jordan Pickford 4-5, Fabian Schär 5-5, Eric Dier 5-6, Josip Drmić saved.


The 2019 Final

9 June 2019 - 7.45pm WEST
Portugal 1 Netherlands 0 [0-0]
Estádio do Dragão, Porto (43,199)